Barley Salad

barley tomatoes kales salad

In a span of a week-and-a-half between Thanksgiving and Christmas, I used up 25 pounds of all-purpose flour.  It was a lot of baking.  So for the next six months I will try to focus on healthy cooking.  I have already started making non-sandwich (and meatless) type lunch for my family since school resumed.  This barley with tomatoes and greens recipe is not fancy but it is filling, full of vitamins and all that other good stuff.  I recommend prepping and cooking the night before, and then combine cooked/prepped ingredients together the next morning for lunch.

Ingredients:

  • 158 grams (1 cup) barley
  • 454 grams (16 ounces) organic cherry tomatoes, washed
  • 284 grams (10 ounces) organic kale
  • 15 millilitres (1 tablespoon) Myer lemon juice
  • 75 milliliters (5 tablespoons) extra virgin olive oil ( 45 ml or 3 tablespoons for dressing; 30 ml or 2 tablespoons for cooking)
  • salt/pepper  season to taste
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed and finely chopped

Directions:

  1. To Cook barley: in a medium pot with lid, add in washed barley and 709 millilitres (3 cups)of cold water to the pot. Cover with lid.  Bring water to a boil and let it cook for 5 minutes.  Turn down heat to medium-low and let it simmer for 25 minutes (or longer if necessary.  If liquid has evaporated before barley is cooked just add some more water and continue cooking in low heat).  You can also follow the direction on the package.
  2. To Saute Kale:  Set a large sauté pan over medium-high heat for a minute.  Add in 30ml oil to the hot pan. Wait for several seconds and add in kale.  Toss the kale occasionally to keep from burning (add a table of water if necessary) and continue to cook for 5 more minutes. season to taste.
  3. To make vinaigrette:  In a medium bowl, add in lemon juice, sugar, salt, pepper, olive oil.  Whisk to blend all ingredients together until creamy.
  4. To serve: In a large salad (mixing) bowl, add all ingredients together. Add vinaigrette. Combine contents until all are coated with dressing.  Additional seasoning if desired.

This makes perfect healthy bento lunch.

Enjoy!

13 comments on “Barley Salad

  1. omg. same page. Next year I’m going to buy a 25# sac of flour to save money (not calories).
    This looks like a good salad. I’ll try it when I finish my 1-3 day juice cleanse. Tomorrow is day 1 and we’ll see how I do just juicing. A day at a time. 🙂

    • lol. I bought Central Millling’s Organic Artisan Bakers Craft Flour from Costco. Did some research on it. Pretty good quality flour for 13.99. Hence another 25 pounds sitting in my pantry! 🙂 Wow. Juicing. I can never juice. I am practicing mindful cooking/eating so it requires advanced planning (you think I should loose some weight from all these planning). I am switching to more vegetarian meals and may be two 500 calories/day a week. By the way, try tahini dressing with the salad.

      • I think I consume more calories when I’m not eating sugar as I let myself eat nuts and popcorn with coconut oil and brewers yeast. I just bought like 50$ worth of fruits and veggies so hopefully I will even make through 2 days but we’ll start with the first.
        At 45, I can’t seem to lose weight to save my life. So now I’m working on being stronger to carry it and my flexibility:)
        I love tahini dressing. Miso tahini too.

Leave a Reply

