Steam-Fry Vegetables

French green beans, Brussels sprouts, vegetables

I discovered two new vegetables this summer.  Brussels sprouts and French yellow beans.  When I was a child, brussels sprouts had never appeared in any of our meals.  Not because my parents didn’t like it.  You just don’t find this vegetable in any Asian grocery.  Recently, I read about the health benefits of these leafy green, miniature cabbages and thought I give them a try.  Not too bad.  I steam-fried them with olive oil, garlic, and season with sea salt.  The result is tender yet still retaining a crunch.   What is steam-fry?  It’s a method I use to quickly cook vegetables without turning them into yellow-mushy dish.  First pan-fry then a quick steam-cook.  This way of cooking vegetables allow the veggies to be tender yet crunchy at the same time.  Quick, easy, and delicious.

I had my first taste of French yellow beans.  I like it! It is a little sweeter and crunchier than green beans.  As you can see from the photo,  steam-fried allowed the beans to stay crunchy and keep its  beautiful bright yellow.   Perfect summer vegetable entrée.

How to steam-fry:

1. Place a pan or a wok over a medium-high heat, let the wok warm up a bit.

2. Add 2 tablespoons of cooking oil, and 2 gloves of finely minced garlic.  Cook the garlic until fragrant but do not burn the garlic.

3. Add vegetables of choice to wok; Season with salt to taste;  Stir the content frequently for 3-4 minutes.

4.  Add 2 to 3 tablespoons of water or broth to the content.  Cover with lid, and let it steam-fry for about 2 to 3 minutes.

Quickly plate the cooked vegetables to avoid further cooking in the hot wok or pan.

Enjoy!

8 comments on “Steam-Fry Vegetables

    • Raw-shaved into a salad sounds interesting. Must try next time because cooked brussels leave a bit of bitter taste. 🙂 Thanks, though, I cannot take credit for the term. It’s out there but not commonly used.:)

  1. I’ve used the ‘steam frying’ technique before but I didn’t actually know it had a name! I like it. Your vegies look absolutely gorgeous… I always get a bit sad when I see beautiful brussels sprouts that have been cooked to their grey, mushy death. Your dish definitely did the vegetables justice 🙂 xx

  2. I absolutely adore brussel sprouts! Another great way to cook them is par-boil for a few minutes and then finish them on the grill with a little balsamic vinegar. YUM!

Leave a Reply

