Looking for perfect blooms

Whisks  & Chopsticks

A quick detour from my kitchen…

Recently Costco had shelves of peonies for sales.  Like everyone, as soon as I entered the store, I made a beeline straight for these gorgeous, large blooms with exquisite fragrant to match.  It was love at first sight for me (even though I was beginning to show signs of allergies).

I was standing in front of these shelves trying to figure out which to pick, and so was the person next to me.  We were probably hoping that the other knew more about these beauties so we wouldn’t have to eeny-meeny-miny-moe a pick. What struck me was that at the end of which-pot-look-healthy-and-pretty, I knew more about what he and his wife are growing in their backyard than what my next door neighbor grows.

In the end, I selected a Shirley Temple (Paeonia) because of the soft pink on outer petals. Apparently, the yellow jackets and some buzzing insects are glad about the selection too (though I suspect that any fragrant floral would do).  I am so possessive over the peonies that I swatted at a yellow jacket for what I thought was an attack on the new bulb ( hmm…isn’t gardening supposed to bring inner peace?) Ahh well, may be I should head back to the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

