Blog Awards

liebster-award-whisksandchopsticks

It may not be the Golden Globe Award, but the feeling is still the same.  Very exciting!  I think it is safe to say that to those of us who received these nominations, it means that our blogs do inform and entertain, and people enjoy reading our posts.  It is very gratifying feeling.  Recently, I was nominated again for a Liebster  Blog Award. Thank you 20 Inc for nominating my blog.  Joody and Jenni, founders of 20’s Inc just started a new journey together to help fill in the void with their insights, experiences, and open discussion to current issues that are facing the 20-something. Very informative.  I hope you don’t mind, but I would also  like to thank Wendy of Chez Chloe for nominating Whisks & Chopsticks for the 7×7 Link Award. (My apology to Wendy for this long overdue post). I have been living vicariously through Wendy’s travels, life abroad, and drool over her recipes and food photography.  She has a great sense of style!

The Liebster Blog Award

The guideline for this blog award is for  the nominees need to answer 11 questions posed by 20’s Inc., nominate 11 other blogs, and ask them 11 questions.  Here are my answer to 20’s Inc’s questions:

What inspired you to start your blog?

Several years ago, I discovered the world of food blogging.  I was hooked and inspired by the recipes, stories, and photos.  When my family’s palate’s became more sophisticated than the short list of meals I knew how to make, I turned to online recipes (it is difficult to get access to the library 24/7).  Thank goodness for food blogging!  At the same time, I was getting to know a group of ladies in the neighborhood who meet up at least once a month to cook and lunch together;  I learned to make some of the most delicious home cooked dish (Pan fried buns, and Hong Kong Style chow mein).  These were my most requested recipes at pot-luck.  Inspired by blogs that you may know too ( Sea Salt With Food, Cocoa & Me, Smitten Kitchen, Chocolate & Zucchini), I started this blog.  What started as a virtual recipes box to share with friends and food-diary for my family so we remember the foods we shared, became a hobby.

If you could meet one person in the world, who would it be?

 I would like to meet the man, Joseph Fry,  who is responsible for my favorite dessert, chocolate. He created a steam engine for grinding the cocoa beans which catapulted chocolate production in large-scale and accessible to all to develop some of my favorite chocolate decadent!

Where do you see your blog in 5 years?

Whisks & Chopsticks will have  a comprehensive list of recipes that feature foods that heal, and natural ways to prepare foods without the chemicals and additives.  (Of course, I will keep on posting my favorite sweet decadent!)

What message do you have for your readers?

I know there are many food blogs out there, but I like  encourage readers to start a blog if they haven’t already.  You will grow as a person, discover a new you, develop interests that you wouldn’t otherwise consider.

Where do you typically write?  From the comforts of your couch?  A cafe?

I usually write at our long dinning table, but recently I use my bed as a table because it is the best place to rest my arm flat while typing due to recurring tennis elbow. (Danger of  blogging. Oh don’t let that discourage you from starting a blog readers! )  🙂

Where do you find inspiration for your posts?

I usually find inspiration from dishes I grew up with, or from those heavenly bites that have me running to my kitchen to cook.  I am a very visual person, so of course those mouth-watering food photos which never fail to give me jolt of inspiration once I stop drooling over them.

What advice do you have for aspiring bloggers?

My advice for aspiring food  bloggers: 1. Have a mission statement (sound technical and I am working on this myself).  It is a good advice I read from one of the forums.  The mission statement helps you stay focus and help readers know what to expect from your blog.  2.  sticky-post ideas as they pop into your head because they may disappear as quickly as they pop-in.  3.  Start with childhood favorites and how to make it your own recipes. 4. Read up on blogging.  I have just begun to learn about the do’s and don’ts of blogging. There are two great places I recommend to start with : One Cool Site has great blogging tips, tools, and tutorials, and join G+ Food Bloggers Community.

What’s your favorite memory from your twenties?

My favorite memory from my twenties will definitely be sampling street foods and bakeries while roaming the streets of Paris!

Coffee or wine?

Definitely Coffee! Robust coffee with a dash of cream.   What can I say, I love my addiction.

Favorite song of the moment:___________________.

My current favorite song has to be “I’m Going To Sit Right Down And Write Myself A Letter” performed by Perry Como and Martha Davis. Marvelous duet!

Words you live by:__________________________.  What inspired you to start your blog?

I love this quote from Julia Child.  Her sensibility toward new cooks, and her sense of humor encourage us to take a dive into it regardless…  “Maybe the cat has fallen into the stew, or the lettuce has frozen, or the cake has collapsed — eh bien, tant pis! Usually one’s cooking is better than one thinks it is. And if the food is truly vile, as my ersatz eggs Florentine surely were, then the cook must simply grit her teeth and bear it with a smile — and learn from her mistakes.”

Nomination:  I am so excited because  I get to nominate  11 bloggers who continue to inspire me.   Drum roll please…

And now this inquiring mind would like to know…

  1. Why is the meaning behind your blog name?
  2. What inspired you to start your blog?
  3. Where do you see your blog in 5 years?
  4. What is your favorite post?
  5. Where do you find inspiration for your post?
  6. What advice do you have for aspiring bloggers?
  7. What is something you learned since your started blogging?
  8. What is a must have book or cookbook for you and why?
  9. What is your go-to recipe?
  10. How would you get back on the bloggin wagon if you’ve fallen off?
  11. Natural light or artificial light to photograph?

7x7 blog award

Wendy, thank you for noticing my blog and nominated it for the 7×7 Link Award!   The “acceptance speech” should include: 7 random facts about yourself; List 7 of my posts in 7 categories. Nominate 7 more bloggers.

7 Random Facts about me:

I don’t like cold shower.  Not even on a hot, hot day.

I don’t like to close my eyes when I swim because I am afraid that a shark may be lurking in the water. (Silly me. I know 🙂 )

I don’t like to share my favorite chocolate mousse.

I don’t like to put sugar in my coffee.

I can live on bread and butter, coffee, and carrot juice for a week.

I squint my eyes too long when I take food picture, and always end up with a woozy.

I like bees because they are pollinating the blueberry bush in my yard. (I can see lots of blueberry).

7 Post Categories:

  1. Most Fun:  A Solution to the Messy
  2. Most Popular: Pan-fried Noodles Dim Sum Style
  3. Most Satisfying:  Melt-in-your-mouth Brownies
  4. Most Healthy: Stir Fry Asparagus Garnish with Chicken Bits
  5. Most Prideworthy: Pan-fried Mini Buns
  6. Most Surprisingly Successful: Mindy Fox’s Sea Salt Roast Chicken with Delectably Crispy Skin
  7. Most Beautiful: Parisian Style Crepes

And drum roll again please…

7 Nominations for the 7×7 Link Award:

Once again, Thank you Joody, Jennie, and Wendy for nominating my blog for the awards.  Readers, thank you for reading this post and now go visit those creative blogs. 🙂

29 comments on “Blog Awards

  1. No apologies required. I’m the worst!
    Well done with this one!
    I’m feeling you with the tennis elbow. I think I have ‘golf’ elbow. It’s on the inside. SO completely annoying. Never knew how much I relied on my elbow!

  2. Nice, congratulations on your awards! You have great stuff here 🙂 Thanks for nominating ohcrumb! for the liebster award. It was such a sweet surprise. I had a chance to check out a couple of your nominees – what a great way to spread the word about other great content out there.

  3. Pingback: Renewal: The Promise of Spring | Family Foodie Survival Guide

  4. It’s so nice to get recognition from fellow bloggers, congratulations!! I love the quote from Julia Child 🙂 Thank you for including The Foodie Affair in your nomination for the 7 x 7 Link Award. I can’t wait to check out all the nominees!

  5. Congratulations on the awards lovely!! I definitely agree that you deserve every bit of positive recognition that you get! Sorry to hear about the tennis elbow. My husband’s an animator and he’s got RSI in his wrist from overuse at the computer. Using the bed as a table is a great idea… argh, I wish that our bodies were a bit more resilient!! Anyway, well done on this beautiful blog my dear! x

    • Thank you for your kind words. Posts like these seem to shrink our virtual world a little making it feels like we are in the same room. 🙂 Ya, whenever joint, muscle and tendons hurt, it’s no fun. I have been dealing with this almost two months now; the pain goes up and down by has not gone away so resting the affected arm helps. There is no other way around not using computer with your husband’s line of work. 😦

  6. Congratulations, and thanks for the nomination, I’m flattered 🙂 Funny thing – I have tennis elbow too and have been wondering how the heck I got it (I’m not a tennis player!). It never even occurred to me that it might be a “blogging injury”! 😉

    • You are welcome. Looking forward to getting to know you more 🙂 Ya, I think it’s from too much typing. One day, medical community will have a chronic condition name with blogging tag to it. 🙂 By the way, can’t tell you enough how much I love your baking posts!

Leave a Reply

