Conquering the Fear of Whole Wheat with Blueberry Scones

I am sure this happens to all of us who read food blogs:  We see a picture of some delicious edibles, then immediately drool over the picture and thinking, “I want one!” Well, I was reading a post from Emily of Habitually Hungry, and wanted a bite of those  crunchy top blueberry scones sprinkled with raw sugar. Since I don’t live near Big Sur Bakery or Emily’s kitchen, I just had to bake myself some. The problem?  It involves whole wheat.  I haven’t baked with whole wheat since my early baking days because results were not edible.  So naturally, I shied away from it…but what’s a girl to do when a want must be met?

So I took out the three-month-old bag of whole wheat flour, next to bags of all-purpose flour, which had been patiently waiting for me to turn it into something yummy. Some of you may ask why I have whole wheat in my pantry if I don’t like to bake with it.  Well, I knew that one day I would run into an irresistible whole wheat recipe that would help me get over the hiccup and learn to work with it.  🙂  I sure got over the hang-up. I followed Emily’s recipe – which she based out of the Big Sur Bakery Cookbook – but I’ve made some minor changes. These whole wheat scones came out tender inside with a crunchy outside just like Emily’s. One bite of the scone, I was sold, and baked three more batches! Thanks for posting that recipe Emily!

Ingredients:

  • 340g (12 oz) frozen or fresh blueberries
  • 2 sticks cold unsalted butter, cubed
  • 312g (2 1/2 cups) unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 120g (1 cup) whole wheat flour
  • 225g (1 cup) granulated sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt, preferably fine-grain sea salt or kosher
  • 2 tablespoons vanilla extract (preferably not imitation extract)
  • 200ml (3/4 cup) buttermilk
  • 65g (1/4 cup) raw cane sugar (turbinado sugar)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degree Fahrenheit.
  2. If you are not using frozen blueberries, freeze the fresh berries at least 2 hours before baking time.
  3. In a big mixing bowl, whisk in the flours, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Add in the cubed unsalted butter. Put the bowl in the freezer for 30 minutes before baking.
  4. In another mixing bowl, again whisk together, buttermilk and vanilla extract set aside.
  5. Remove the dried ingredients from the freezer.  Rub the butter into the flour until butter are roughly peas size.   Make a well and add in liquid mixtures. Using a spatula (or a pair of chopsticks), gently mix all ingredients together. (Don’t worry if not all the ingredients are moisten because when frozen berries are added in, it will become more moist). Then, gently stir in frozen blueberries.
  6. Turn two fistful of dough onto a floured surface and gently press the dough together into a ball. Pat the dough down until it is 1 inch (24mm) thick. Then using 3-inch (.75 cm) biscuit cutter press down the dough. Emily suggested to leave a more haggard looking dough so scones will come out more pretty.  If you still have some unpressed dough left, put it  back into the freezer until you are ready to roll out and biscuit press again.
  7. Place all cutouts onto a parchment lined baking sheet. Generously, sprinkles raw cane sugar onto each tops.  
  8. Baked the scones for 15-20 minutes (I baked for 16 minutes) or until golden brown but the center should still be a little moist – it should give a little when pressed.
  9. Transfer to a cooling rack to let cool.

Try one hot off the oven. Mmm…

Enjoy!

9 comments on “Conquering the Fear of Whole Wheat with Blueberry Scones

  1. Well if they taste even half as good as they look I think we are in for a treat. I know what you mean with the WW flour though. I totally OD’d on it when I was vegetarian and all natural in every which way. Now I’m like bring on the white devil. But really WW still does have it’s place and deserves a little spotlight now and again!

    • They are pretty good. One of the kids’ club is requesting for this again. :)I am learning to adapt WW flour to other recipes and have to figure out the liquid part otherwise products come out dry. Please share picture if you do give this recipe a try. BTW if you can get a hold of Big Sur Cookbook, I highly recommended. It features lots of wholesome and (of course) delicious recipes.

Leave a Reply

