Green Onions Oil: The Unsung Hero

So I thought I was lucky to escape the flu/cold season untouched. Ha! It got me.  I am down with a cold and all the miserable symptoms.  It is raining and the wind is blowing at 20+mph (what’s up with that?!) so there is no way going to the market even though the  fridge is empty except for eggs, carrots (lots), green onions (lots), and some leftover.  Since we had leftover last night, I can’t do that to my family again today.  So I am going to introduce them to my all-I-have-to-cook-is-this and serve it with rice.  When I was little that was my favorite way to eat rice.  Green onions oil condiment over rice. Green onion oil is an unsung hero that gives bland food a great lift.  There are different versions of this condiment:  green onions oil with salt, green onions oil with soy sauce, and green onions-ginger oil and salt.   They can be served with rice, sticky rice, rice-stick noodles,lo-mein, steamed fish, Chinese-style blanched chicken.

Green Onions with soy sauce version

Ingredients:

2 bunches (12 stalks) green onions, finely sliced cross-wise
59 ml mild cooking oil
24 ml soy sauce or
1 tsp salt (leveled)

Preparations:

  1. Place a small-sized skillet over a medium-high heat and let the skillet warm up before adding ingredients.
  2. Once the skillet is warm, reduce to medium heat, add cooking oil and let it cook for a minute then add all the green onions.
  3.  Cook and stir occasionally for 1-2 minutes then turn off heat and add soy sauce or salt. Let the green onion oil mixture sits in the skillet for several more minutes because the heat in the skillet still cooking it or serve immediately.
  4.  Served with rice, sticky rice or noodles.

Green onions-ginger oil with salt version

Ingredients:

2 bunches (12 stalks)green onions, finely sliced cross-wise
59ml mild cooking oil
8-10 slices of ginger, finely julienned
1 tsp salt (leveled)

Preparations:

  1. Place a small-sized skillet over a medium-high heat and let the skillet warm up before adding ingredients.
  2. Once the skillet’s temperature risen, reduce the heat to medium then add the ginger and stir it occasionally and  let it cook until you can smell the fragrance but do not let it burn.
  3. Once ginger is fragrant, add the green onions and continue to cook and stir for 1 to 2 minutes until green onions begin to soften. Stir in salt.  Turn off heat and let it rest in the skillet for 1 minute before removing into a bowl.
  4. Serve it with noodles

Enjoy!

9 comments on “Green Onions Oil: The Unsung Hero

  1. I love this combination and you’ve created a great dish from bare bones ingredients. This is my first visit to your blog, so I took some time to browse through your earlier entries. I’m so glad I did that. I really like the food and recipes you share with your readers and I’ll definitely be back. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

    • Hi Mary. Thanks for stopping by. I am glad you like my entries. I want to share with readers recipes that may/may not be in cookbooks and at the same time pass down written recipes and some oh-that’s-what-mom-ate-when-she-was-little to my family because sometimes daily tasks can get in the way of sharing with them. I am glad you had time to browse through. Come by again soon! 🙂

  2. I love the green onion-ginger-oil-salt combo. It was one of my favourites around big chinese celebration dinners when served with the chicken. I think I loved the plain chicken because of the “dipping sauce” as we used to call it. We made it at home a couple of times but I think my mom used to heat the oil and pour it over the green onions. That way, they wouldn’t get too overcooked. I can’t remember if the ginger was cooked in the oil first or “cooked” with the green onion. Mmm… yummy…

    • I like to cook the green onions a little so it soften and also cook the ginger so it gives a good fragrant. Anyway you make this condiment, it is a yummer for sure. you are right it yummy with Chinese style blanched chicken.

Leave a Reply

