Cassava Coconut Cake

Baked Cassava Coconut Cake

Cassava Coconut Cake

Yesterday was one of those days that plating/styling for food photo was not happening. The sun light streaming into our dinning area was too much or not enough making photo shoot really frustrating. I plated cassava coconut squares in circle, zigzag lines and stacking. Nope, did not capture what I was looking for. Certain food can be challenging for me to do a presentation that would allow me to capture its essence. So frustrated that I just turned the camera to a prepping plate, and just started shooting. It worked! This plate of juxtapose cassava coconut squares that I absent-mindedly tossed the unused squares onto came out pretty decent. What do you think?  What do you do on one of those days?

Anyway, back to recipe. This is actually baked cassava cake revisited. It has been a long while, my first post to be exact, since I baked this cake. I baked it again because my Father is visiting this weekend and it is his favorite. I made some minor changes to the recipe, and posting with picture this time around!

I bought a Trader Joe’s coconut cream extra thick and rich. It was the first time I used this product so I didn’t know when the label says thick it meant really thick barely any liquid. I wasn’t sure how that would turn out since original recipe has 1/2 can of coconut milk so I added a little half and half to the batter. Hey, cream would fix everything right? :) This improvising did baked a moist, chewy, a little more gooey,  and a nice toasted top. A nice balance of texture.  It is a cross between cassava and macaroons.  So here is the recipe again. I hope you will like it too.

Ingredients:

  • 2 packs                                                              frozen grated cassava (thawed)
  • 1 pack                                                                frozen shredded coconut (thawed)
  • 1/2 can                                                              coconut cream (extra thick)
  • 45 milliliters                    3 tablespoons             half-and-half
  • 1 egg                                                                 whisked
  • 6 grams                           1 teaspoon                 sea salt
  • 56 grams                         4 tablespoons            cold butter, cubed
  • 450 grams                       2 cups                        caster sugar

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to  275 F or 135 C
  2. Mix all the ingredients in an 8-inch baking pan, level batter evenly, and rake the top with a fork to which texture.
  3. Bake at 275 F (135 C) for 1 hour.  Then increase temperature to 400 F (204 C) and bake for 25 minutes more or until the top begin to turn golden brown.
  4. Remove from oven.  Let it cool for 5 minutes then cut into desired squares.

Let it cool completely or serve it warm.

Enjoy!

24 comments on “Cassava Coconut Cake

    • If you want the cake much sweeter, you can add more sugar or condense milk. :) Thanks for those kind words. :) It’s amazing how much we can share and learn from one another via blogging, and so much fun too! You take terrific pictures for you blog, by the way

    • Wish I can get you a slice. It is probably more fun to bake one for yourself :) It is a very easy cake to bake. Prep time is less then 10 minutes if you don’t count thawing time. Oh, I get many frustrating photo shoots because…well I am a newbie at food photography and a food-styling-challenged. But it is rewarding when I manage to capture what I like. :)

  1. This cake looks absolutely delicious… full of coconut flavour! I’ve never eaten cassava before but I’m intrigued (I had to google it!). Thanks for sharing your recipe, as always :)

    • Thank you. The toasted coconut smell heavenly as you bake. It is not a very sweet cake, you can add another half cup to make it sweeter or add some condense milk which will make it more gooey and sweeter. Give it a go, and let me know how you like it. Thank you for dropping by :)

    • Hi Chef Molle! You can find them in any Asian markets (Chinese, Vietnamese, Filipino, Mexican, or mainstream markets that carry specialty items). Your other option is to by the fresh cassava roots and grate it yourself. Thanks for stopping by! :)

      • We have them even in our funky little town market (somebody probably asked to bring them in) – but I’ve seen them in the bigger health food stores too, in my general area it’s Natural Grocers and farther away Whole Foods. The chewiness factor sounds great in your cake, I really am going to track down some frozen cassava. And thank you so much for following my blog and your kind words! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

